Mauritius and Switzerland sign Foreign Office Consultation Mechanism

Mauritius and Switzerland signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on Monday 7th August 2017 in Port Louis for the establishment of a Foreign Office Consultation Mechanism to strengthen the political, economic and cultural ties between the two countries.

The signatories were the Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Usha Chandnee Dwarka-Canabady and the Ambassador of Switzerland to Mauritius, Helene Budliger Artieda with residence in Pretoria.

Mauritius is home to about 737 Swiss Nationals.  The Short-stay Visa Waiver Agreement and the Agreement on Mutual Exemption for holders of Diplomatic and Service Passports were signed on 26 October 2010.